Birthday: 20-07-1951
Age: 67
Star sign: Leo

Ibrahim Khan Gauri was born on 20th July 1951 in Multanpura, Mandsaur Madhya Pradesh. His name by nature is Ibrahim Khan Gauri, but he is mostly recognized by his pen name called Ashk. He has two children, a boy named Nadeem Khan and a daughter Naveesa Khan. He received his early education from Government Boys Higher Secondary School in Badnagar, District Ujjain. In the year 1973, he graduated with his BA from Indore University and he received his MA in Hindi Literature from Islamia Karimia Degree College Indore in the class of 1974. Ashk is a journalist, actor, poet and film writer by profession.

He worked for Daily Indore Samachar for four years before he moved to work with Shama and Shushma Magazine for six years and then he moved on to work with famous Hindi magazine Sarita for two years. He entered Bollywood industry in the year 1982 and became an integral part of the industry since then. He is mostly recognized for his creativity and his contribution to different poetical forms. Ashk works on Iqbal and Ghalib ample testimony to his critical acumen. He wrote various literary criticisms. He is also a well-accomplished lyricist and has written lyrics of some of the most popular songs of the decade.

He penned the lyrics for songs of film Koi Mil Gaya, Janasheen, Aap Mujhe Ache Lagne Lagge, Kaho Na Pyaar Hai, Dhund, Koi Mere Dil Se Puche, etc. His songs for movie Kaho Na Pyaar Hai broke 50 years old record. Ashk has been the receiver of different accolades and awards. He writes poetry in both Hindi and Urdu. He is also the author of 16 books in Hindi and Urdu of criticism, poetry, and reality. He is honored with Nagrik Saaman in various cities. His ghazals and shayaris are also very famous, and he has appeared in various international mushairas, and he even has a literary journey through various countries such as Dubai, Doha, Qatar, South Africa, etc. He has written scripts for not only different films but also of various television serials.



Rajesh Manthan
Dr Sagar
Rajendra Krishan
Rashmi Virag
Master Rakesh
Manoj Darpan