Birthday: 1931


K. S. Sethumadhavan is a famous screenwriter and film director in India dedicating his works to Malayalam movies. Madhavan is famous for his movies in Tamil, Oriya, Kannada, Telugu and Hindi also. Some of the landmark films directed by him are Yakshi, Odeyil Ninnu, Achanum Bappayum, Anubhavangai Palichakal, etc. He won 9 Kerala State Film Awards and 10 National Film Awards. He was born in the city of Palakkad in the state of Kerala. His mother's name was Lakshmi and father's name was Subrahmanyam. Initially, he worked as an assistant director.

He later worked with many directors like A. S. A. Swamy, L. V. Prasad, and Nandakarni. The first movie for which he worked as a film director was the Singhalese film named "Veera Vijaya" in the year 1960. "Jnanasundari" was his first Malayalam movie. He later directed more than sixty movies. Some of the famous films are "Daaham", "Odayil Ninnu", "Ara Nazhika Neram", "Chattakkari", " Marupakkam", etc. He won the Nargis Dutt Award on National Integration for being the best-featured film in the year 1973 for the film "Achanum Bappayum."

In the year 1991, he won the award named National Film Award for the drama feature film named "Marupakkam", the first movie in Tamil to win the award. The Telugu movie named "Stri" directed by him won the National Film Award for Best Feature Film in the year 1996 in Telugu. He was awarded with the Kerala State Film Award four times as the best director. The four films are Karakanakkadal, Ara Nazhika Neram, Oppol, and Theeratha Veedu. He became the chairman of the jury in the year 1982 for the Kerala State Film Awards.

He was given the J. C. Daniel Award in the respect of his contributions and achievements to the Malayalam Cinema in the year 2009. Kerala Film Critics Association honored him in the year 2011 with the Chalachitra Ratnam Award. In the year 1962, he directed a film named "Kannum Karalum" starring Ambika Sukumaran, Sathyan, Kamal Haasan, etc. He directed two films named "Susheela" and "Nithya Kanyaka" in the year 1963. In the year 1964, he directed three films named "Omanakuttan," "Manavatty", and " Anna."

In the year 1965, he directed two films named "Odeyil Ninnu," "Daaham." In the year 1996, he was the director of three films named "Sthanarthi Saramma", " Rowdy", " Archana." He directed many more films till the year 1994. In the year 1994, he directed a film named " Nammavar" starring Gouthami and Kamal Haasan.


Manu Kannamthanam
S Janardhanan
K. K. Rajeev
Vinod Mankara
Vipin Atley