M.S.Mani, a renowned editor and film director of the Indian cinema, mainly ‘Malayalam’ movies, was born in the year 1926 in the month of November in the town of ‘Poojapura’, which is a place in ‘Thiruvananthapuram’. His parents are ‘Balambal’, and ‘Mrithyunjaya Ayyar’. He was married to ‘Seethamani’ and they had been blessed with a son, ‘Karthi’k. He started off his editing career with ‘Aashadeepam’, a 1953 ‘Malayalam’ movie. ‘G.R.Rao’ was the director and ‘TE Vasudevan’ had produced it. Stars like ‘ Gemini Ganesan’, ‘ Sathyan’, ‘ Padmini’, and ‘B.S.Saroja’ were the lead characters.

This picture was produced in ‘Tamil’ also in the name of ‘Asai Magan’. In 1954, he edited ‘Snehaseema’. ‘S.S.Rajan’ had directed the film and actors like ‘Padmini’, ‘S.P.Pillai’, ‘Sathyan’, ‘G.K.Pillai’, ‘Baby Lalitha’, and ‘PJ Cheriyan’ were cast. In the following years, he came up with many movies like ‘Koodappirappu’ in 1956, ‘Nairu Pidicha Pulivaalu’ in 1958, ‘Chathurangam’ in 1959, and ‘Jnaanasundari’ in 1961. In the year 1962, he edited two films, ‘Puthiya Aakaasham Puthiya Bhoomi’, and ‘Viyarppinte Vila’.

Both the films were a hit in their time. He was the editor in ‘Doctor’ and ‘Sathyabhaama’. Both these films had released in 1963. In 1972, he received an award for the Best Editor by Kerala State Film Awards for the film, ‘Maram’. It was produced and directed by ‘Yusuf Ali Kechery’. Actors like ‘K.P.A.C Lalitha’, ‘Jayabharathi’, ‘ Adoor Bhasi’, and ‘Prem Nazi’r were a part of this picture. In the year 1990, he received another award for Best Editing by The National Film Awards for the film, ‘Iyer The Great’. ‘R Mohan’ had produced and ‘ Bhadran’ had directed this psychological thriller movie, and ‘ Devan’, ‘ Geetha’, ‘ Shobana’, ‘ Mammootty’, and ‘ Sukumari’ played the roles of main characters. In 1992, he received yet another Best Editing award by The National Film Awards for the picture, ‘ Sargam’.

The couple, ‘Bhavani Hariharan’, and ‘Hariharan’ had written, directed, and produced this film. ‘ Rambha’, ‘ Urmila Unni’, ‘ Oduvil Unnikrishnan’, ‘ Vineeth’, ‘ Thilakan’, ‘Manoj K Jayan’, and ‘Neduvudi Venu’ were included in the cast. This film was also made in the ‘Tamil’ language with the name of ‘Sarigamalu’. It had also received an award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment by The National Film Awards. As a director, he had edited seven movies from 1962 till 1971.

These include ‘Puthiya Aakaasham Puthiya Bhoomi’, ‘Doctor’, ‘Thalirukal’, ‘Sathyabhaama’, ‘Jalakanyaka’, ‘Subaida’, and ‘Vilakkappetta Bandhangal’. He has been a very popular director and editor in the 1980s. On March 9, in the year 2008, he passed away due to a heart disease in a hospital (‘Shree Ramachandra Hospital’) in Chennai.



Shameer Muhammed
Kiran Das
Akash Joseph Varghese
Don Max
Achu Vijayan
Sobin K Soman