Born in New Delhi, Rohit Sharma is an Indian movie composer, who works in Bollywood. He had no musical background. His father worked in Reserve Bank of India and mother was a housewife. He began learning music after completing his junior college studies.

Later, Rohit took music seriously and started dreaming of becoming a composer. He completed his graduation in Engineering from Delhi College Of Engineering in 1996. He began taking formal instruction in Music from Pt. Harshwardhan for Classical Flute. At the same time, he prepared himself in Western Classical Piano from the Delhi School of Music.

After his studies, he worked in a professional area for a while. In the year 2000, he quit his business to pursue his dream of becoming a composer in Mumbai. At the beginning of his vocation, he gave music for serials, shows, and jingles.

In the wake of completing various jingles, title tunes and plugs for Television, he at that point composed the melody 'NahamJanami' for the feature movie named Ship of Theseus directed and written by Anand Gandhi in 2009.

The movie starred Neeraj Kabi, Aida Al-Khashef, and Sohum Shah. In 2011, he made the score for the socio-political drama film named Buddha in a Traffic Jam directed and written by Vivek Agnihotri starring Mahie Gill, Anupam Kher, and Arunoday Singh.

The tunes for this movie are Bela Gobiya and Tope Ka Mantar. Both the motion pictures delayed and discharged in 2013 and 2014 respectively. Sharma got him critical claim for having seventeen tracks in Buddha In A Traffic Jam film that incorporate music classifications as shifted as Tribal Blues, Nazm by Faiz Ahmed Faiz, Folk Rock, Rock musical drama, Jazz tunes and Blues utilized as a part of a soundtrack of the motion picture.

In 2014, he created songs titled Bako Sufu and Dip Dip Dara for feature film named Shortcut Safari coordinated by Amitabha Singh starring Aashi Rawal, Jimmy Sheirgill, and Sharvil Patel. Rohit also composed tracks movie Barefoot To Goa directed by Praveen Morchhale in 2015 featuring Farrukh Jaffar, Saara Nahar, and Prakhar Morchhale.

In 2016, he got an offer to score music for motion picture Anaarkali of Aarah coordinated by Avinash Das starring Pankaj Tripathi, Swara Bhaskar, and Sanjay Mishra, where he found the opportunity to try different things with folk music and tunes from Bihar.

This motion picture discharged in 2017. That year, he gave music for an English film Colors of Life by Prakash Bharadwaj featuring Priyanshu Chatterjee, Rituparna Sengupta, and Payel Roy. This movie released in 2018.