Murugan Manthiram is an acclaimed lyricist working predominately in Tamil cinema. He has always been noted in the Tamil industry for his lyrics are continuing to touch the hearts of all the Tamilians. Murugan was born in Chennai and completed his high school and intermediate studies from Concordia Higher Secondary School in Valliyur. After this, he graduated from Arignar Anna College in Aralvaimoli with Bachelor of Arts in Economics. He did his further studies and studied advance diploma in multimedia from arena animation in Vadapalani, Chennai. After his studies were completed, he started working as a writer, worked as a publisher as well as an editor in his hometown Chennai. In 2013, he entered the Indian film industry and started working as a writer, lyricist, and executive producer.

He worked for two years under VU - the film. Later, he quit this job and founded an online news portal titled Tamil news and was also the editor and chief executive officer of this news portal. Along with this, he also began writing lyrics for several songs in Tamil Industry. Besides these, Murugan has also been working as an editor in chief for Thangam to work as a special editor for another Tamil monthly magazine named Vetriventhan since 2015. Murugan is famous mainly for his contribution to Tamil movies. From all the albums for which he has written songs from which the most famous ones are Virundali and Pesuvathu Kiliya.

His most heard tracks are Eppodhuunjannal which is sung by Hariharan and Mahalakshmi Iyer. His has written this song along with victor doss. The other songs of the album Virundali are Kokha Kozhi and Singam Varudha. Kokha Kozhi is voiced by Chinmayi Sripada and Vinitha while Singam Varudha is sung by Prasanna. Two of the other songs from the same album are Endhan Uyire sung by Yash Gocha and Kadithame Kadithame sung by Kumar SS. Another famous and frequently heard track is Boologam Ellaamae from the album Pesuvathu Kiliya which is sung by Raihanah AR, yemil and Kaushik. Solely written by Murugan the song is directed by Gowrishankar S and features Darshini, Pandu as lead actors.